List of ICC T20 World Cup Winning Teams in History – (All Times)

ICC started T20 World Cup in 2007 to entertain cricket fans around the globe. Till yet, seen seasons of T20 WC have successfully been hosted by International Cricket Council, and T20 World Cup 2022 will be the eighth.

Each season of the T20 World Cup was won by the most dominating team that excelled in all the departments of cricket. Here is the list of ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Past Winners List.

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Past Winners List[/su_note]

[su_quote style=”flat-green”]So far seven seasons of the T20 World Cup have been hosted by ICC. West Indies are the most successful team as they are the only team to win the T20 World Cup two times.[/su_quote]

Apart from it, India, Pakistan, England, Sri Lanka, and Australia have also won the T20 World Cup title for one time. Here is the complete list of ICC T20 World Cup seasons and the winning teams.


Season Winner
T20 World Cup 2007 India
T20 World Cup 2009 Pakistan
T20 World Cup 2010 England
T20 World Cup 2012 West Indies
T20 World Cup 2014 Sri Lanka
T20 World Cup 2016 West Indies
T20 World Cup 2020 Australia

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]India – T20 World Cup 2007 Winner[/su_note]

India became the first-ever team in T20 Cricket history to win the T20 World Cup in 2007. They defeated their arch rivals Pakistan in the final match by 5 runs. The T20 World Cup 2007 final was held at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 24th September 2007.

Watch > > > Star Sports Live Stream Free on Mobile & PC Outside India

After winning the toss India decided to bat first against. In 20 overs, the Indian batting lineup set up a handsome total of 157/5 while batting first against Pakistan.

However, Pakistan started its chase in a jittery fashion. They lost a few wickets in the early overs, But Misbahul Haq took the match to the last over. Pakistan needed 5 runs on the last ball, but Misbahul Haq while going for a six was caught out. Therefore, India won the T20 World Cup 2007 in a Stylish fashion.

Also Check > >> Best Apps To Watch Live Cricket Scores Faster Than TV – (Real Time)

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]Pakistan – T20 World Cup 2009 Winner[/su_note]

After losing the T20 World Cup 2007 final against India, Pakistan fought back in the 2009 season. They defeated Sri Lanka in the T20 World Cup 2009 and became the 2nd Champions of the T20 World Title. The T20 World Cup 2009 final took place at Lord’s, London on 21st June 2009 between Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

After winning the toss, Sri Lanka opted to bat first against Pakistan. However, they had a broken start and only managed to set a short total of 138/6 while batting first.

Watch > > > PTV Sports Live Stream FREE in UAE & Saudi Arabia

In return, Pakistan lost both openers in the chase but excellent half-centuries from Shahid Afridi and Shoaib lead Pakistan to a stunning victory by eight wickets. This is how Pakistan became the 2nd Champions of the T20 World Title.

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]England – T20 World Cup 2010 Winner[/su_note]

After participating in 9 Cricket World Cups, England lifted their first-ever ICC title in 2010. They became the 3rd World T20 Champions by defeating their arch-rival Australia in the T20 World Cup 2010 final match. T20 WC 2010 final was hosted at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados on 16 May 2010.

After winning the toss, England invited Australia to bat first. A poor performance from the Australian top and middle order, helped England to restrict Australia at a reasonable total of 147/6 in 20 overs.

England went brutal in the chase and run down the target in 17 overs for the cost of three wickets. As a result, England won the T20 World Cup 2010 tournament final.

[su_button url=”” target=”blank” style=”flat” background=”#1e7d15″ size=”8″ wide=”yes” center=”yes” radius=”0″]Watch T20 World Cup 2022 Warm Up Matches Live[/su_button]

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]West Indies – T20 World Cup 2012, 2016 Winners[/su_note]

West Indies are the only team to hold the T20 World Title two times. They won the T20 World Cup 2012 and 2016 tournaments. In the T20 World Cup 2012 final, West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 36 to claim the title for the first time.

Whereas, West Indies outclassed England in the T20 World Cup 2016 final to claim the title for the 2nd time. No other team has won the T20 World Cup title two times in T20 history.

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]Sri Lanka – T20 World Cup 2014 Winners[/su_note]

After losing the T20 World Cup in 2009 and 2012, Sri Lanka finally became the T20 World Cup winners in 2014. They defeated India by six wickets in T20 World Cup 2014 final to claim the title. T20 WC 2014 final match took place Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on 6th April.

Sri Lanka won the toss and invited India to bat first. Due to the poor performance from the top and middle order, India set a lower total of 130/4 in 20 overs while batting first against Sri Lanka.

However, Sri Lanka dominated the Indian batting lineup and chased down the target in the 17th over for the cost of 4 wickets. This is how Sri Lanka became the 5th Champion of the T20 World Cup.

[su_note note_color=”#fbff69″ radius=”8″]Australia – T20 World Cup 2021 Winners[/su_note]

After taking part in seven seasons of the T20 World Cup, Australia finally became the T20 Champions in 2020. They outclassed New Zealand by 8 wickets in the T20 World Cup 2021 final match. Australia vs New Zealand T20 World Cup 2021 took place at Dubai International Stadium on 14 November 20221. Now Australia is the defending champion in the T20 World Cup 2022.